10 finalists announced in Grand Rapids' ArtPrize - WLNS TV 6 Lansing - Jackson | Your Local News Leader

10 finalists announced in Grand Rapids' ArtPrize


GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. (AP) - Organizers of Grand Rapids' sprawling ArtPrize international art show and competition have announced the 10 finalists for the $560,000 in prize money.

 The annual art competition began September 19. This year's installment features entries from 1,517 artists from 56 countries and 45 states. The works are on display at 161 venues across downtown Grand Rapids.

The finalists are the top vote-getters in the first round of online balloting by 41,000 people. Round 2 ends at 11:59 p.m. EDT Thursday.

The top 10 include (artist's name, work's title, hometown and venue):

  • Sandra Bryant, "Return to Eden," Lynden, Wash., Public Museum of Grand Rapids.
  • Mark Carpenter and Dan Johnson, "Lights in the Night," Grand Rapids, Mich., The B.O.B.
  • Dennis Harris, "The Chase," Marlette, Mich., Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum.
  • Dan Heffron, "Life in Wood," Traverse City, Mich., The B.O.B.
  • Frits Hoendervanger, "Rebirth of Spring," Detroit, Amway Grand Plaza Hotel.
  • Adonna Khare, "Elephants," Burbank, Calif., Grand Rapids Art Museum.
  • Chris LaPorte, "City Band," Grand Rapids, Mich., Grand Rapids Art Museum.
  • Richard Morse, "Stick-to-it-ive-ness: Unwavering pertinacity; perseverance," Fennville, Mich., Grand River.
  • Martijn van Wagtendonk, "Song of Lift," Colbert, Ga., Urban Institute for Contemporary Arts.
  • Kumi Yamashita, "Origami," New York, Grand Rapids Art Museum.

We also have a picture gallery of more ArtPrize pictures.

Powered by WorldNow

2820 East Saginaw Street,
Lansing, MI  48912

Telephone: 517.372.8282
Fax: 517.372.1507
Email: webmaster@wlns.com

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Lansing, Inc. A Media General Company.