Governor Snyder Declares State of Disaster in 19 Counties - WLNS TV 6 Lansing - Jackson | Your Local News Leader

Governor Snyder Declares State of Disaster in 19 Counties


LANSING, Mich. (WLNS) - Governor Rick Snyder declared a state of disaster for 19 counties and two cities across Michigan. It comes in response to the massive flooding that occured throughout April.

The call was made to ensure all resources were available following the Michigan Emergency Managament Plan.

Grand Rapids and Ionia were the two cities, along with the following counties:

  • Baraga
  • Barry
  • Benzie
  • Genesee
  • Gogebic
  • Gratiot
  • Houghton
  • Ionia
  • Kent
  • Keweenaw
  • Marquette
  • Mecosta
  • Midland
  • Muskegon
  • Newaygo
  • Ontonagon
  • Osceola
  • Ottawa
  • Saginaw

The governor has asked the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to join state and local officials later this week to assess the extent of damage to homes, businesses, public facilities and infrastructure. The Preliminary Damage Assessment (PDA) process is the initial step to assist state officials in determining whether a federal declaration should be requested.

Powered by WorldNow

2820 East Saginaw Street,
Lansing, MI  48912

Telephone: 517.372.8282
Fax: 517.372.1507

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Lansing, Inc. A Media General Company.