Disaster, Emergency Declaration List Grows - WLNS TV 6 Lansing - Jackson | Your Local News Leader

Disaster, Emergency Declaration List Grows

Posted: Updated:
LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder has expanded the list of counties declaring states of emergency and disaster because of spring flooding and the winter's deep freeze.

Snyder directed the Michigan State Police on Wednesday to amend the declarations.

He added six Lower Peninsula counties to the disaster declaration because of flooding since April 12, and eight northern counties to the emergency declaration because of damage stemming from extreme cold.

The disaster declaration now covers the counties of Newaygo, Osceola, Isabella, Mecosta, Missaukee, Muskegon, Roscommon and Wexford. The emergency declaration covers Marquette, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Delta, Emmet, Gogebic, Luce and Mackinac.

The declarations make state aid and assistance available to affected counties. They also authorize state police to coordinate response and recovery efforts.
Powered by WorldNow

2820 East Saginaw Street,
Lansing, MI  48912

Telephone: 517.372.8282
Fax: 517.372.1507
Email: webmaster@wlns.com

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Lansing, Inc. A Media General Company.