Beach Read: Grand Cru Heist Now in Paperback - WLNS TV 6 Lansing - Jackson | Your Local News Leader

Beach Read: Grand Cru Heist Now in Paperback

Posted:

This article was originally distributed via PRWeb. PRWeb, WorldNow and this Site make no warranties or representations in connection therewith.

SOURCE:

In time for beach read season, mystery and thriller publisher, Le French Book, just released Grand Cru Heist in paperback. This second Winemaker Detective cozy mystery offers vintage wines, French landscape, sleuthing and just enough edge to appeal to any mystery reader.

New York, NY (PRWEB) June 24, 2014

It's a perfect beach read escape. In Grand Cru Heist, authors Jean-Pierre Alaux and Noël Balen bring French wine country to life. The smell of the earth and the taste of the wine seep from pages of this cozy mystery.

Grand Cru Heistthe second in the Winemaker Detective mystery seriesis a gourmet journey through France, travelling from Paris to Tours, the Loire Valley to Bordeaux, leaving stolen wine and dead bodies in its wake. Wine critic and amateur detective, Benjamin Cooker and his trusty assistant, Virgile, are hot on the trail, savoring local wines and food and capturing murderers and criminals before the police arrive on the scene.

These mysteries have a distinctly French flavor to them, and can appeal to readers who like Poirot, Wimsey and Marple, or people who simply enjoy France and wine.

Jean-Pierre Alaux and Noël Balen are the authors of this long-running made-for-TV mystery series focusing on the world of wine-making and wine-tasting. For them, each book is as much a mystery novel as a wine tastingthe discovery of a region, a wine and the people who make it.

According to one reviewer, With poetic lyrics and brilliant rendering of atmosphere, Alaux and Balen have created a mystery series and armchair detective that are as mellow and delightful as a grand cru vintage.

Booklist says that this series will whet the appetite of fans of both Iron Chef and Murder, She Wrote.

The Authors:

Jean-Pierre Alauxa magazine, radio and television journalist and true Epicureanteamed up with full-time writer and musician, Noël Balen, to write the Winemaker Detective Series, which now has 22 books. They came up with the idea for this mystery series while sharing a meal and a bottle of Château Gaudou 1996, a red wine from Cahors with smooth tannins and a balanced nose.

Click here to read an excerpt.

Praise for the Winemaker Detective series:

Unusually adept at description, the authors manage to paint everything...The journey through its pages is not to be rushed. ForeWord Reviews

A terrific new series. William Martin, New York Times bestselling author

A fine vintage forged by the pens of two very different varietals. It is best consumed slightly chilled, and never alone. Peter May, prize-winning, international bestselling author

"An excellent mystery series in which you eat, drink and discuss wine as much as you do murders. Bernard Frank, Le Nouvel Observateur

Grand Cru Heist by Jean-Pierre Alaux and Noël Balen; translated by Anne Tragerpublished by Le French BookISBNs: 9781939474087 (ebook)/ 9781939474049 (trade paperback)/ 9781939474124 (hardcover)First published in French (Pour qui sonne langélus, Librairie Arthème Fayard, Paris)Direct-to-digital translation availablePrint version release: June 24, 2014

About Le French Book:
Le French Book (http://www.lefrenchbook.com) is a New York-based publisher specialized in great reads from France, with a growing catalog of top contemporary mysteries and thrillers with a French touch. An IPS publisher.

©2014 Le French Book, Inc. All rights reserved. Information is subject to change without notice.

For the original version on PRWeb visit: http://www.prweb.com/releases/beach-read/cozy-wine-mystery/prweb11962804.htm

Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. WorldNow and this Station make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you have any questions or comments about this page please contact pressreleases@worldnow.com.

Powered by WorldNow

2820 East Saginaw Street,
Lansing, MI  48912

Telephone: 517.372.8282
Fax: 517.372.1507
Email: webmaster@wlns.com

Can’t find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Young Broadcasting of Lansing, Inc. A Media General Company.