The 6 Sports High School Awards Presented by Johnson’s Workbench

If you are a nominee and have not yet received an invitation to the event, please call 517-367-2106 and leave a message or email and you will be contacted with information. 

6 Sports wants to recognize and celebrate the amazing accomplishments of our Mid-Michigan high school athletes, coaches, and programs and there’s no better way to do this than by launching our first-ever ‘6 Sports High School Awards Show.’

It will be hosted by Sports Director, Audrey Dahlgren, on June 22 at 7 p.m. with interviews being conducted by Ian Kress and Haley Schoengart.

This is an in-person awards show for those who have been nominated and have received an invitation to the event. If you’d like to tune in via livestream we will also be airing it live on our website the night of the ceremony!

We invite you to view the exciting videos and be inspired as you join us in celebrating these accomplished local athletes.

See the nominees below and be sure to vote for the People’s Choice Award!

Female MVP Sponsored by American Flooring of Holt

  • Janae Tyler – Holt
  • Hannah Pricco – Lansing Catholic
  • Kyra Shadduck – DeWitt
  • Megan Zeitz – Dansville
  • Alena Li – Okemos

Male MVP Sponsored by American Flooring of Holt

  • Zander Woodruff – Laingsburg
  • Braden Hill – Charlotte
  • Bryce Kurncz – DeWitt
  • Isaiah Foster – Holt
  • Bo Lincoln – Olivet

Team of the Year Sponsored by Spare Time Entertainment

  • Laingsburg boys basketball
  • Lansing Catholic girls basketball
  • Holt girls basketball
  • Pewamo-Westphalia volleyball
  • Mason football

Play of the Year Sponsored by Champion Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

  • Alex Pastoriza (Jackson Lumen Christi) – Interception to seal Div. 7 State Championship
  • Emily Homan (Haslett) – Halfcourt buzzer beater versus Lansing Catholic
  • Cameron Hutson (East Lansing) – Slam dunk versus Battle Creek
  • Tavion Harden (Lansing Eastern) – Slam dunk versus Williamston
  • Nakai Amachree (Haslett) – Punt return at the Big House on opening night of the high school football season 

Coach of the Year Sponsored by One North Kitchen & Bar

  • Kacee Reid – Lansing Catholic girls basketball
  • Gary Houghton – Mason football
  • Keith Miller – Okemos girls soccer  
  • Rod Watts – Waverly boys basketball
  • Tori Brooks – Holt girls basketball

Moment of the Year Sponsored by Candy Ford

  • Shawn Foster’s seven touchdown game versus DeWitt
  • Ben Kohagen’s game-winning catch versus Pewamo-Westphalia
  • Charlotte boys basketball wins CAAC White for the first time in 31 years after clutch basket by Gage VanAlstine with former coach Steve Ernst, who is battling cancer, in attendance
  • Lansing Everett boys basketball tops Jackson in district opener with game-winning basket by LaJune Lubrin
  • Pewamo-Westphalia brothers Jamison and Grady Eklund combine to score 56 points

The 5th Quarter Inspiration of the Year Sponsored by Dean Trailways

  • Troy Wertman (Pewamo-Westphalia) – Suffered a season ending injury in baseball and came back to have a dominate football season. Only the second player from P-W to play Division I football.
  • Da’Marion Hicks (Potterville) – Survived a near fatal incident during a summer basketball game
  • Kayla Ozanich (Okemos Volleyball) – Continued to play and inspire others after tragically losing her father in 2017
  • Mya Terranova (East Lansing) – First female wrestler at East Lansing to reach MHSAA state finals
  • Emma Riley (Fowler) – Returned from injury to help the girls basketball team make its third straight trip to the final four in Division 4.

Record Breaking Performance Sponsored by Spring Arbor University

  • Janae Tyler – Became Holt’s all-time leader in points and rebounds, also set the single season rebounding record.
  • Bryce Kurncz – Became DeWitt’s all-time leading scorer in basketball
  • Hudson Grienke – Scored a school record 8 3-pointers in Okemos’ win over Eaton Rapids
  • Cason Carswell – Became Mason football’s all-time single season leader in touchdown passes
  • Whitney Werner and Collin Farmer – Both broke their own school record in the 3200 meter run at Shepherd Invitational

Lifetime Achievement Award Sponsored by A&J Transmission

  • Bill McCullen – DeWitt girls basketball coach earns 500th win of coaching career.
  • George Fox – First person in Michigan to win a state championship as a player at Fowler and coach at Lansing Everett.
  • Al Schrauben – Portland St. Patrick girls basketball coach earns 700th win of coaching career.
  • Herb Brogan – Led Jackson Lumen Christi football to its 12th state title overall and 10th in his tenure this past season.
  • Rob Zimmerman – DeWitt football coach earned his 250th win this past season

People’s Choice Award for Play of the Year Sponsored by Johnson’s Workbench

Click here to to select your choice for 6 Sports High School Awards Play of the Year.

Public voting is for entertainment purposes only and will not have any impact on ranking.

Michigan Headlines

View All Michigan

Newsfeed Now

View All Newsfeed Now

Sports Illustrated

View All Sports Illustrated

Sports Illustrated

View All Sports Illustrated

StormTracker 6 Radar

Newsfeed Now

View All Newsfeed Now