WATCH: Whitmer announces $2M vaccine sweepstakes winners


LANSING, Mich. (WLNS) — Gov. Gretchen Whitmer was joined by Kerry Singh, Director of the Protect Michigan Commission and Michigan Education Trust to announce the last group of winners in the MI Shot to Win Sweepstakes this morning.

The MI Shot to Win Sweepstakes was launched in early July, as an effort to encourage Michiganders to get vaccinated, offering up to $5 million in cash prizes and $500,000 in college scholarships.

Thanks to every Michigander who got their shot, the MI Shot To Win Sweepstakes has been a success and we are continuing to make progress in keeping our families and communities safe. But our work is not done. We are going to keep making efforts to reach people where they are, answer their questions and help them get their shots. If we work together, I know we can get this done and continue our economic jumpstart.” 

Gov. Gretchen Whitmer

More than 2.4 million Michiganders signed up to win cash prizes and over 106,000 Michiganders entered to win scholarships. 

Vaccination rates have increased throughout the month of July, starting with 28,000 doses in the first week of July and increasing to 41,000 doses administered in the last week of July.

According to the most recent data, Michigan’s vaccination rate now is more than 65%.

The sweepstakes were one just strategy that the state and the Protect Michigan Commission have used to promote vaccinations, Ebersole Singh noted.

Governor Whitmer created the Protect Michigan Commission in January. Housed within the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, commission leaders are to ensure that every Michigander has a plan to get vaccinated.  

The sweepstakes and news coverage helped spur conversations between families and friends about the sweepstakes. Several winners who were previously unvaccinated before the sweepstakes said they were inspired to get their vaccinations based on those discussions and the prizes they could win.” 

Protect Michigan Commission Director Kerry Ebersole Singh

Despite cases, hospitalizations, and deaths drastically decreasing for vaccinated individuals, unvaccinated individuals are still at risk. From January to July, unvaccinated Michiganders accounted for 98% of COVID cases, 95% of hospitalizations, and 96% of deaths.

The following list includes all winners of the MI Shot to Win Sweepstakes:

$2 Million Winner – Christine Duval, Bloomfield Township, Oakland County 

$1 Million Winner – LaTonda Anderson, Grand Blanc, Genesee County

Michigan Education Trust Scholarship Winners 

  • Landon Burkhart, Dakota High School, Macomb County 
  • Karan Choudhary, Plymouth High School, Wayne County 
  • Josiah DeBaets, Eastern High School, Kent County 
  • Ian Miller, Salem High School, Wayne County 
  • Meadow Surman, White Lake Middle School, Oakland County 
  • Mallory Wheeler, Reading High School, Hillsdale County 
  • Jackson Wittwer, Eisenhower High School, Macomb County 
  • Kamare Wright, Thurston High School, Wayne County 
  • Hudson Chambers, Grand Rapids City High Middle School, Kent County 

$50,000 Daily Drawing Winners 

July 1 Amber Berger New Baltimore, Macomb County 
July 2 Adrienne Peterson Southfield, Oakland County 
July 3 Chris Ackerman Detroit, Wayne County 
July 4 Larita Lee Wyoming, Kent County 
July 5 Jenna Basaj Sterling Heights, Macomb County 
July 6 Paul Bareno Rockford, Kent County 
July 7 Leslie Boney West Bloomfield, Oakland County 
July 8 Jonathan Barraw Traverse City, Grand Traverse County 
July 9 Mikayla Alexander Detroit, Wayne County 
July 10 Erika Smith Flint, Genesee County 
July 11 Majid Al-hacham Detroit, Wayne County 
July 12 Anthony Carroll Detroit, Wayne County 
July 13 Jonelle Shannon Grand Rapids, Kent County 
July 14 Debbie Cameron Port Huron, St. Clair County 
July 15 Jacqueline Mabee Allegan, Allegan County 
July 16 Clara Jekel Holland, Ottawa County 
July 17 Ke’Lexis Love Flint, Genesee County 
July 18 Brianna Hrejsa Grand Rapids, Kent County 
July 19 Brian Loussia West Bloomfield, Oakland County 
July 20 Diedrie Malloy (DJ) Kincheloe, Chippewa County 
July 21 Joshua Long Grand Rapids, Kent County 
July 22 Joel Cotton South Lyon, Oakland County 
July 23 Todd Demeyers   Oakland Township, Oakland County 
July 24 Alyssa Armstrong Caledonia, Kent County 
July 25 Caleb Nielsen Paw Paw, Van Buren County 
July 26 Brandon Ebright Okemos, Ingham County 
July 27 Kevin Underwood Lowell, Kent County 
July 28 Brian Kulesz Sterling Heights, Macomb County 
July 29 Jacqueline Paul Indian River, Cheboygan County 
July 30 Breya Matthews Grand Rapids, Kent County 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Michigan Headlines

More Michigan

StormTracker 6 Radar